#TackleTBR Read-A-Thon Wrap-Up!

172189The past two weeks have been a juggling act of hurricane prep and a full schedule. So to set the goal of 5 books in the span of two weeks? What was I thinking? Luckily, I was able to pull through and reach my goal for the third year of my participation in Tackle Your TBR Read-A-Thon as hosted by Wishful Endings. I wish I had the chance to read more, but c’est la vie.

1.) Goblin Market by Christina Rossetti

24874319

3 out of 5 stars

Usually I like flowery language, but when the metaphors are blatant and the rhythm is off and the rhyme scheme is direct, I lose interest. I’m glad to have finally read this poem (and the others included in this little book, too!), though. This was one of the books I was supposed to read in college but started and never finished.

2.) SEO Marketing: Step by Step Beginner Guide for Making Money Online by David Scott

35522083

1 out of 5 stars

Full of incorrect industry information, typos, and repetitive sections, I don’t recommend this to anyone.

3.) Hover – Haiku as Emotional Espresso by Jonathan Hirshon

209910092 out of 5 stars

The author attempts to start a new school of haiku but presents a collection of haiku that are mostly mediocre. While there were a few haiku I liked, most were too abstract.

4.) Fun Home: A Family Tragicomic by Alison Bechdel

261358255 out of 5 stars

An intricate tale of a family, funeral homes, and homosexuality. This graphic novel tells the story of growing up in the 60s, 70s, and entering adulthood in the 80s with the discovery of family secrets.

5.) The Art of Peace by Morihei Ueshiba

3368893 out of 5 stars

Peace, as described from a warrior’s perspective in the Japanese martial art of Aikido. Insightful tidbits of how to keep peace at the forefront of one’s mind, even during confrontation. The Art of Peace is definitely a practice worth internalizing. I dog-eared most of the pages. At times, the book seemed to contradict itself; the beginning of the book states that the Art of Peace is open for all gods. By the end, it states that there is no need for gods or any organized religion, which I don’t agree with.

Total Books Read: 5
Total Pages Read: 726

Another year of the Tackle Your TBR Read-A-Thon, and another year of slimming down my To-Read list…LOL JK I went to the bookstore yesterday and picked up four more books. Oh well, there’s always next year to finish my reading list!

All pictures are from Goodreads.

Leave a comment