Week 2 of #CampNaNoWriMo


In a turn of events that was not expected this time last month, I have met my page/poem goal for Camp NaNoWriMo. That’s 60 new poems to add to the verse novel manuscript.

But it’s not done yet.

This second week, I had a revelation. I recognized something was missing in the initial draft – a part at the end and a missing link between the first and second parts. I also realized that a main character did not get as much time as she should have. To fix these missing pieces, I added two parts – a short section at the end that ties everything together, and another section that is the new second part. This gives four main parts to the verse novel. I wish I could be more specific, but I don’t want to give anything away! 

To finish the first draft, I just need to finish part four and write part two.

I met my goal on the second week of Camp NaNoWriMo, a first for me. But it’s not over yet, and I look forward to seeing what is waiting in the rest of the story. I still hope to have a finished first draft by the end of the month.

How was your second week of Camp NaNoWriMo? If you’re not participating this month, how is your writing going?

2 thoughts on “Week 2 of #CampNaNoWriMo

Leave a comment